Hollins Tennis Named All Academic

Hollins tennis team photo with the ITA All Academic logo overlay on the picture

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) released it's annual All-Academic and Student-Athlete teams. The Hollins team and six of her individual student-athletes were honored by the national organization.  

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2016 and spring 2017).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Hollins saw three of her first-year players join a sophomore, junior, and senior to earn All-Academic honors. Senior Htet Myat San and junior Amelia Verkerk received All-Academic status for the second consecutive year. Sophomore Elizabeth Rochow was joined by a trio of first-years, Kateri Johnson, Sarah Snoddy, and Kaitlyn Woodruff, in giving Hollins six of the 1,364 NCAA DIII student-athletes to receive the honor.