Helms Earns Second Team All IWLS

Action photo of lacrosse player Carsen Helms with the Hollins logo and wording overlay
First-year Carsen Helms named 2nd team All IWLS

The 2018 All-Independent Women's Lacrosse Schools (IWLS) Teams were announced on Thursday afternoon. First-year defender Carsen Helms was named All IWLS Second Team.

Helms started all 11 games on defense and led the team in both key defensive categories. Her 36 ground balls and 16 caused turnovers led the way for the Hollins defense while the first-year picked up four draw controls. 

The IWLS consists of nine schools that compete as independents within the NCAA. Hollins joins Colorado College, D'Youville, Franciscan University, Southwestern University, SUNY-Canton, Sweet Briar, University of Dallas, and University of Northwestern-St. Paul.